Minorities In The Middle East: Kurdish Communities 1918–1974

TitleMinorities In The Middle East: Kurdish Communities 1918–1974
Publication TypeBook
Year of Publication2006
AuthorsN/A, and Destani B.
EditionCambridge Archive Editions
Number of Volumes4
Number of Pages2000
Publication LanguageEnglish
KeywordsHistory, Middle East

Although the Kurdish peoples are numerous, their aspirations for unity and independence have been repressed by the dominant regimes in the region, effectively minoritising the Kurds within a group of established states. Since the end of the First World War the former Ottoman Kurdistan has been administered by five sovereign states: Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Syria, and the former Soviet Union. In 1918 Kurdish hopes for an independent Kurdistan provided for by the Treaty of Sèvres (1920) were quashed by the constitution of modern Turkey, founded by Mustafa Kemal (Ataturk), and by the division of Kurdistan between Turkey, Syria and Iraq by the French and British, formalised in the Treaty of Lausanne in 1923.